Russia is the largest country in the world. The vast territory of Russia lies in the eastern part of Europe and the northern part of Asia. Russia is bordered by 12 seas of 3 oceans. It also shares borders with many countries, such as Mongolia and China to the southeast, Finland and Norway to the northwest and so on.

The vast land of Russia varies very much from forests to deserts, from high mountains to deep valleys. The main mountain chains are the Urals, the Caucasus and the Altai. There are a lot of great rivers and deep lakes on its territory. The longest rivers are the Volga, the Lena and the Yenisei. Lake Baikal is the deepest lake in the world and its water is the purest in the world.

The current population of Russia is more than 150 million people. The capital of Russia is Moscow with a population of about 110 million people. Russia is a presidential republic. It has also its own Parliament, which consists of two chambers.